G- to the Rilled Cheese!

Holy Cheese. Holy Chicken Cheese! Have I got a good one for you!!!
Confession: I LOOVVVEEE cheese.
Ok, that probably wasn’t a well kept secret… but you can bet your paycheck I will always take a stroll around the specialty cheese section in my grocery store just to dream (and maybe salivate) about the crazy expensive, mouth watering, cheeses I once enjoyed 2 kids ago.
So it should come as no surprise that I adore a good grilled cheese. My girlfriend Erin once made me grilled cheese I couldn’t stop talking about for weeks. To this day I tell others they must try Erin’s grilled cheese- it’s life changing. I had a hungry crowd at lunch today, so inspired by Erin, I went to work.
Yes, this is my original recipe.
I did, however, use a technique I found on Pinterest.
Here’s the cast of characters:

20130818-171536.jpg
I used a mild (but delicious- seriously.) white cheddar, pepper jack, & parmesan (I prefer fresh but only had jarred on hand)
I added the left over rotisserie chicken (thank you Costco) from last night because we all needed protein. This made a big delicious difference!!
I used olive oil instead of butter ๐Ÿ’—

20130818-172627.jpg
A couple of details…
On the bottom piece of bread
Add a layer of cheddar,
then a layer of pepper jack,
then a layer of chicken or bacon bits,
last a layer of Parmesan.
On the top piece of the bread, after oiling (I used a kitchen brush), sprinkle parmesan cheese, garlic salt & pepper to taste.
Here’s where the Pinterest find comes in…

20130818-173215.jpg
I baked them in the oven @ 400 for 7 minutes between 2 cookie trays.
I oiled the bottom sheet (then I didn’t have to do the whole butter on the bottom thing)
* My top cookie tray is not the greatest so I ended up flipping them, replacing the tray & cooking for another 3-4 minutes.

20130818-173701.jpg
These were soooooo delicious! And, I didn’t feel a bit guilty because butter was no where to be found! And, I got my serving of calcium for the day.
Win-win people!
It made a difference using 2-3 types of cheese.
It made a difference using good bread.
It made a difference (but not in taste) using olive oil instead of butter.
It made a difference baking instead of grilling on the stove (you know I hate to hover over the stove!)

What I might change/add:
Tomatoes – I can’t believe, alright yes I can, I forgot to buy them at the store yesterday. Grrr!
Mushrooms- I probably would grill them separately then add on top of the cheese. Could you imagine that on your palette?! De-Lish!!
Yellow/green/red Peppers- for those who love a good kick in the mouth. ๐Ÿ˜œ
I think the list could go on and on.

Convenience scale- it’s not rocket science but it does take a little time to put the love in this – regardless of how you grate it. (Bad ump bump)

Price scale– a sliding scale for sure. Spend as much or as little as your pocket book and heart desires!

Yummy scale– Do it!!! Your mouth will thank you! Kick up your boring grilled cheese and give it LIFE!

One Comment Add yours

  1. Anonymous says:

    lol wish I was there for it!! xxx

Leave a Reply

