These made me want to be adopted by The Pioneer Woman

Once you try these you will wonder how you lived without them. I know I did. Every time these are on the menu I get ‘oohs and ahhs’ from all the patrons.
*Fun fact: Ree Drummond, aka The Pioneer Woman, received this recipe from an Australian viewer, so I thought it only fitting to make these for our very own Aussie, Kate, while she’s stateside!
~Tip 1~Plan to make 2 potatoes (or more if you have big eaters) per guest. These are worth a second helping!
~Tip 2~While boiling potatoes, put a wooden spoon across the top of the pot so it won’t overflow

Review time!
On the convenience scale: seriously, how can you mess up potatoes? All her recipes are easy to follow.
On the $ scale: everyday pantry + a 3lb bag of potatoes= cheapo people!
On the yummy scale: I will easily replace baked or mashed potatoes for these. They are that good.

http://thepioneerwoman.com/cooking/2008/06/crash-hot-potatoes/

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Brandie, you need to take pictures and post them too, without them I wasn’t sure what you were writing about.

    1. I thought about that (& even took pics of my own) but felt it redundant because the links (@ the bottom of the review) have the entire recipe and pictures.
      It’s a decision I keep going back and forth on. I’ll consider finding a better balance of the original recipe & my final product. Thanks for your feedback! ;))

  2. purplek828 says:

    That Pioneer chick is smart! Step-by-step instructions WITH pics. Even a cooking simpleton like me can follow those instructions! Nice find!

  3. Jasanna says:

    These DO look deeelicious! I have been following the Pioneer Woman for some time and boy is she busy! But these look easy too. Totally post how yours look next time! It’s fun to see. πŸ™‚

  4. Anonymous says:

    Ok, I made these tonight and have some things to add! First off, they were delicious! Sent darling daughter to the store to buy the red potatoes and ended up with GIANT red potatoes which I would not recommend. Once smashed they looked nothing like a “cookie”. I am thinking the smaller ones would be better suited for this recipe πŸ™‚ Second note, I went looking for the recipe link on your pintrest food board and could not find it so please put the recipes you try on your board so it is easier for this lazy person to find! haha!

    1. I thought I had a link but I will double check to make sure it works or post a new one.
      Yes- the smaller ones do work better. I’ve done the exact same thing & should’ve added that detail! Thanks!! πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

