Are we having THAT for dinner AGAIN?!

I have heard this question more times than I care to admit. And not just from the pack I herd- but from my own head. It seemed to be on a weekly loop! I found myself falling into the same rut of easy go-to menu options with little variation in ingredient or flavor. And that, my friends, is BORING! I don't do boring well. Especially when it comes to food!

So I turned to my ever faithful Pinterest to inspire me. And inspire it did! I went ballistic pinning glorious pictures of bacon wrapped anything and delicious roasts touting easy-peasy instructions for novices like me. I have pinned so many mouth watering desserts I've gained 5 lbs just scrolling through them!

All of this is well and good for the fantasy life of stocked pantries and professional chefs. Not as applicable for the REAL WOMAN (Or Man) who isn't as savvy in the kitchen, has a job, kids, laundry, dentist appointments, soccer/golf practice, a budget and oh yeah… Requires (and adores) sleep. I admit I'm lazy. I LOVE food. But I.am.lazy. I would grab the 5-ingredient/5-step recipe over the 5-star/27 step recipe any day of the week. However, make no mistake, I will pay good money to eat that 5-star meal!

Since I am not a professional chef, and my chef friends live too far away to hire, I am stuck to my own devices. And Pinterest. Always my lovely Pinterest. I check in with you daily- often multiple times- to see what new inspiration you have for me. I know I'm not as bad as some of you out there and I thank you for that. You make my addiction look manageable….almost normal.

BUT. We have all been duped. We have been so enamored by the beautiful pictures of crockpot whatever in front of us we didn't even check to see if the recipe we're pinning is legit. Does it have legs to stand on? Would you cook it for the neighbors? Would your kids dig it? Does it even HAVE a recipe attached?!

In the posts that follow I will be testing these so-called mouth watering recipes in my very own kitchen, with my very own hands and my very own limited cooking skills. I've worked (on the service end) with a few fantastic chefs who I've gleaned great knowledge, and a few pounds, from over the years so I'm not going into this blind but I am still just a Real Woman, in a Real Kitchen, wanting REALLY yummy results!

 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Rebekah says:

    Alright! Excited to see what you do first. I’ve recently started going through my Pinterest recipes myself – I’ve always had my husband cook so I don’t know how to cook at all! Now he works crazy hours so I am being forced into the kitchen…I love finding recipes online vs. in a cookbook because I am super picky and don’t like half the things in a regular cookbook.

  2. iamalighthouse says:

    I’ve found most pinterest recipes to be good, but Foodgawker is my go-to. I just love a good food picture!

    -Jasanna

  3. iamalighthouse says:

    Have fun on this blogging adventure!! 🙂

  4. Michele says:

    Love your blog!!!!! Can’t wait to read another!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

