The Comfort of Love in Food

http://fix-itandforget-it.com/blog/2011/05/10/mexican-casserole/#more-1476

I was listening to singer/songwriter Vicci Martinez explain how she came to write the song I Can Love.
She was encouraged to speak what she knew. To ‘say something that would punch the listener in the face.’ She said, “What I know how to do is love.”

That resonated with me. It made me think of moments in my life where I had a choice to love or not. To embrace those I came in contact with or keep them at arms length.

20130910-194506.jpg
I can say with confidence I’m glad I chose to love when I did.

20130910-200507.jpg
It’s the action that trumps all actions.

20130910-212510.jpg
It’s the most rewarding when reciprocated and the most painful when rejected.

20130910-212723.jpg
But it’s always worth it.
Always. Always. Always.

20130910-213003.jpg
If you’re really blessed you will get a chance to love, and feel loved, on multiple levels.

20130910-210621.jpg
First, and foremost, from God.
We love because He first loved us. 1John 4:19. Its the most pure and selfless love you will ever receive.

Secondly, from those who have walked beside you your whole life. A ‘no matter what stupid thing you do, I will still love you’ kind of love.

Last, and sometimes the one you must work the hardest at, comes from
those that know your deep thoughts, your hearts desire, the true unadulterated you. The ones who’ve
encouraged you, sharpened you, showered you with sweet words, or simply knew when silence was needed. This kind of love stays with you forever even if the person doesn’t.

We all have the ability to be this and receive this.

There may not be any science to it, but I think it takes a heck of a lot more energy to hate than to love. If logistics have changed, be it divorce, break up or any other change, so can your love.

20130910-214403.jpg
If its genuine. If you really meant it.
If you strive to love others more than yourself, you will find peace in showing that love.
I admit I’m not perfect in that sentiment, but there are a select few I can silently boast on.
I liken it to a dish I’m absolutely confident in. It may not be fancy, but the ingredients are right, the method is right, everything works the way it’s supposed to, and I know it’s been served with as pure a love this girl can muster.

It’s a stupid easy love.
You can’t help but give it.
Or eat it up, like your favorite comfort food.

Some details on this mexican/american comfort dish

I did it all in a few skillets instead of a crockpot. Served salad bar style.
I added:
~a bag of frozen veggies to the final buffet
~baby organic tomatoes to the Spanish rice instead of canned tomatoes
~served with a choice of tortilla chips or flour tortillas

Rated on ease, flavor & cost.
🌟🌟🌟 out of 5 for its ability to be a quick go-to staple at the last minute.

One comment on “The Comfort of Love in Food

  1. purplek828 says:

    I’m glad you chose to love me!

Leave a Reply

